Many question and a few answers about the US elections

fear-617131_960_720Abigail from Haifa:

Until now I did not think that I would be interested in politics of other countries, but with all the talks on the media about the US elections, I began to understand that what is happening in the USA can impact the whole world, including us. Especially, I am worried that Donald Trump, who was elected to be the new president of the United States does not believe that the global warming is really happening and is therefore in danger. I don’t understand how so many people believe and support him. Not to mention the disgusting way he treats women, his racism and his support of violence – and that is not all.

I began to look for more articles about the elections and saw that half of the public did not even vote. About a quarter voted for trump and about another quarter voted for Clinton, but the quarter of Trump was a bit bigger. Why did so many people not go and vote? Do people really think that there is no difference between them? Are people so desperate and do they think that they don’t have a way to make a difference in a democratic state? Maybe the US is not really a democratic state?

I continued to think. Is there the possibility that people voted for Trump because he was so aggressive? It seems that there are many people, who are angry, scared and full of hate that they don’t even try to think about what is happening. Maybe they only act out of feelings. And that reminded me of our elections in Israel- how Netanyahu at the end of the election day said that the left parties bring the Arabs in busses to vote. I can think about many more times in history when leaders were able to succeed because they make their people feeling scared…

 

Leave a comment